a study in texture and a new charity

hello out there

It’s been a couple of months since I added another knitting primate item. This past weekend I banished my procrastination to the curb and finally finalized my latest pattern, the study in texture shawl. It is a triangular shawl constructed with multiple bands of variously textured stitches. The pattern calls for a lovely soft llama wool; I also recommend using alpaca or merino. The differently textured bands give visual appeal and interest (or at least I hope :]). It also features cable rope edging which lends a unique aspect to the shawl.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/a-study-in-texture-shawl

It’s a fairly easy to knit pattern. Once you establish the rhythm of the cables and the increases that give the shawl its triangular shape, it’s just a matter of switching between the various textured stitches. Some will be familiar, others maybe a little new but all easy enough to follow after you repeat the stitch pattern once or twice.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/a-study-in-texture-shawl

So far the knitting primate endeavour is yielding good results. I’ll soon be able to make a modestly decent donation to the orangutan foundation int’l. I will post the details on this shortly as I plan to make the donation once the month of May is up. Which leads me to some knitting primate operational news…

I will be adding another charity to my rotation and will be alternating between the two every 3 months. The new charity is a local one, and one I just learned about this past week. The Toronto Wildlife Centre (TWC) is a Toronto based organization that provides rescue and rehabilitation services to local wildlife. Here a little snippet from their website:

It is the mission of Toronto Wildlife Centre to promote the peaceful coexistence of people and wildlife by providing education and expert advice about wildlife situations, and providing medical care to sick, injured and orphaned wild animals with the ultimate goal of releasing healthy animals back into the wild.

I stumbled upon TWC after reading this article about knitting nests for orphaned or injured baby songbirds. I looked up my local wildlife centre, which turned out to be the TWC, and contacted them about whether the could use some of these nests. The TWC, however, doesn’t have the resources (it is a lot of work to raise these infants, especially if the goal is to release them back into the wild) to accept orphaned or injured baby songbirds at this time (though they hope to one day be able to). They did give me a list of other relatively local organizations that do take in baby songbirds; I’ll be contacting these organizations soon to see if I they could use some knitted nests.

After than first contact though, the TWC has won a place in my heart. I’ve already applied to volunteer in person and hopefully in a couple of months I will make a decent donation to through knitting primate sales. So if you want to support the rescue and rehabilitation of injured or orphaned or sick wildlife in the GTA, buy some of my patterns on ravelry or order a pre-knit item from etsy (I’m happy to do custom work) from June-August… or make your own donation to the TWC. While you’re at it, donate to OFI as well, because they may not be local but Orangutans  are still unspeakably awesome, and there is a seriously distressing amount of pressure on their dwindling rainforest home!

Thanks for reading, and happy knitting!!

2 Comments to “a study in texture and a new charity”

  1. I am knitting my 2nd shawl but for some reason I am stuck on the Woven Stitch (Row 47). Am I supposed to SL 1 first and then put the yarn in front or put the yarn in BEFORE I slip it? If I do it in the order it is written then it is really a YO before the K1 then comes next.
    Thank you for your help. Since I gave away the first one I made I can’t look at it to see how I did it.
    Teresa

    • Hello

      You bring the yarn to the front of your work, slip the next st and then bring the yarn to the back of the work again in order to knit. Here is a link to a tutorial for S1 WYIF that may help you with how to bring the yarn to the front.

thoughts, comments, idioms, rantings...

