on green thumbs and furniture i can’t afford

I got in to UofT’s geography masters program. Yay me. Now I have to figure out what I am going to be studying. Sure I wrote a “research statement” for my application, but I wrote that in less than a week and had no idea what I wanted to do, I just wanted in. Now I am in and can figure out what I really want to study over the next year. It will have to do with urban ecosystems and urban forests and so on, but I have no details or specifics. I may try to regularly post about my progress as way of encouraging me to write about what I am learning. I am sure someone out there will find it mildly interesting.

Speaking of Urban Ecosystems, I have put some work in on my personal urban forest – the kind that grows in pots

Our mantle needed a little sprucing up so I separated my philodendron into four colourful pots (i think they are made out of bamboo – but they are from the dollar store, so who really knows). I am hoping they all explode – photosynthetically that is, I don’t want my apartment to explode because of volatile plant elements.

This guy makes me sad. My mom gave me a tiny jade cutting probably 7 or 8 years ago. It grew over the years into a large jade tree a little to big for its breeches. I was very fond and very protective of this plant, wanting it to grow into a huge jade forest. I have made a couple (so-far) successful cuttings from this plant, but the original no longer seems to be thriving well, and some of my cuttings have also died. It has lost most of  its leaves and the root system is minimal. I have repotted it into a smaller pot in hopes that the water won’t drain away before it can be absorbed, which I suspect was at least one of the problems in the giant pot it was in before. I shall see how it goes.

Dave and I wishing we could afford the pretty furniture…

and art. This is at Design Republic on Queen street west. They have a little food stand run by Alligator Pear catering. We had a grilled cheese panini and it was delicious. Yum Yum.

thoughts, comments, idioms, rantings...

