americo, i love you

The cotton flamme yarn from Americo Yarns is definitely the most enjoyable yarn I have worked with. The textures and colour are amazing, and the way the yarn falls before it is even blocked is brilliant. If I had endless money, I would spend a great deal of time in this store! You can also order their yarns online now – so to those knitters out there wanting to work with excellent fibres and colours, try them out.

Below is an image of a shawl I am working on. It is inspired by one of Americo’s patterns (Aspen)

It will be a triangular shawl – if I can manage to stop screwing it up as I knit. One of the “joys” of making something up as you go along. I think I might end up having a whole skein left over when I am finished, which means I get to have more knitwear with this yarn. It is expensive yarn and when you are piled under student debt it is difficult to justify buying this quality for everything you knit when you knit all the time. But it is already in my possession, and I have great plans for it.

This is just a random shot I took while playing with my new lens. I think i am getting the hang of it now after using it over the long weekend at the cottage. Those pictures to come.

Tags: , ,

thoughts, comments, idioms, rantings...

